Thursday, May 16, 2013

Comelec proclaims top six senators, Binay no-show

Three reelectionists and three scions of political bigwigs have been proclaimed winners in the senatorial race only three days after the May 13 midterm elections.

The partial list of senators-elect was dominated by the administration's Team PNoy, leaving only one spot for the opposition's United Nationalist Alliance.

Former censors chief Grace Poe-Llamanzares led the pack of Team PNoy candidates who bagged five of the first six spots in the Senate's so-called "Magic 12.

Poe was accompanied by her mother, actress Susan Roces and son Bryan while Legarda came with her family. Cayetano was with his wife, Taguig Mayor Lani, while Escudero arrived with his ladylove Heart Evangelista. Angara was with his family as well. Binay was meanwhile absent from the proclamation. 

Poe, the daughter of late movie star and ex-presidential aspirant Fernando Poe Jr., has exceeded expectations by leading the Senate race as early as canvassing began.

Also proclaimed winners were reelectionists Loren Legarda, Alan Peter Cayetano and Francis "Chiz" Escudero, who have consistently topped pre-election surveys.

Legarda, a veteran senator who first won in 1998, will be serving her third term. She ran and lost in the vice presidential race twice--in 2004 and in 2010.

Escudero, for his part, was first elected into the Senate in 2007, after serving out three full terms as the representative of Sorsogon's first congressional district.

It was also in 2007 that Cayetano first won a Senate seat. He previously served as representative of Taguig City, of which he was vice mayor in 1998 to 2001.

The only UNA bet in the partial list of winning senatorial candidates was Maria Lourdes Nancy Binay, the eldest daughter of Vice President Jejomar Binay.

Binay, who had served as assistant to his father, was the opposition slate's surprise Senate bet, announced only on the last day of filing of candidacy.

Rounding out the list of the first Senate winners is Aurora Rep. Juan Edgardo "Sonny" Angara of Team PNOy, the namesake son of former Senate President Edgardo Angara.

The younger Angara enters the Senate with three terms' worth of legislative experience under his belt.

The Commission on Elections, sitting as the National Board of Canvassers, proclaimed the first six winning Senate bets after counting only some 13.38 million votes.

Canvassing is set to resume right after the partial proclamation, with poll chief Sixto Brillantes Jr. saying he expects 12 senators-elect Saturday at the latest.

After the first proclaimed senators-elect, the following have bagged the highest votes in the Senate race so far: 
7. Aquino, Paolo Benigno "Bam"
8. Pimentel, Aquilino Martin "Koko"
9. Trillanes, Antonio IV "Sonny"
10. Ejercito Estrada, Joseph Victo "JV"
11. Villar, Cynthia
12. Honasan, Gregorio "Gringo"
13. Gordon, Richard "Dick"
14. Zubiri, Juan Miguel "Migz"
15. Enrile, Juan Ponce Jr. "Jack"

original post :

Clenches onto any surface with a tight unremovable grip

No comments: